Chilli Relish

Getting the chillies cooking on the stove

My husband’s colleague grows veg in an allotment on an almost industrial scale, and one day he brought home from work a big brown paper bag of… chillies. I can’t say I’m a huge chilli fan. I buy a few per year, mostly to concoct my Miracle Brew (post coming!). But by chance I’d been flicking through a Jamie Oliver cookbook a few days earlier, and I’d seen a recipe for Chilli Jam, so I knew exactly what I’d do with them.

Adjustments

Jamie calls for roasting and skinning the chillis and peppers. That sounded like way too much work. I googled lots of chilli jam recipes and ended up combining Jamie’s with Ben’s Chilli Jam. So from Ben I took courage about just trimming and de-seeding the chillis and peppers and chucking them in the food processor. Also, adding garlic.

I also had about triple the amount of chillies, but I didn’t bother adjusting the rest of the ingredients. In fact, I used fewer peppers than called for, because they are a little bit expensive at the moment (50p each isn’t much, but I would have ended up using at least 12 if I’d followed the recipe to the letter).

Verdict

It’s pretty mild, if I’m honest – although I’m not a lover of heat, if it says ‘Chilli Relish’ on the label, I expect it to be hot! I should probably have checked the ‘hotness’ of the chillies beforehand but I was a bit of a coward. Also, I wish I had skinned both the peppers and chillies. I think it would have been worth it as the tiny bits of skin spoil the texture – but it cooks down if you use it in a sauce of course. Although it isn’t quite as good as I’d hoped, it does add another great layer of flavour to bolognese sauces, chilli con carne and basic tomato sauces.

Leave a Reply

