Sourdough Rye Bread

One of the first things I do when I get up is look at Facebook. And one of the first posts I read this morning was from Nourishing Days, all about making sourdough bread. Then I remembered that I had two sachets of sourdough started in my fridge with a use by date of – wait for it – September 2014 [sheepish look]. So I thought it was now or never: time to try making my first sourdough loaf.

I think I’ve made bread before, but I really can’t remember when. So I am a complete bread novice really. My mum used to make loaves when we were little and I remember big washing up bowls of dough rising in the kitchen. She was no domestic goddess – she hated cooking actually. Although I quite like cooking, it doesn’t always turn out right. But I love the adventure of baking – especially with yeast. It seems so amazing that you can mix some inedible ingredients together and watch it transform into something tasty before your eyes.

Adaptations

  • I used a cube of fresh yeast because I had it in my fridge. Although, as I said, I’m not much of a baker and neither is my mother, she still brought me back 6 cubes of fresh yeast from her holiday in January. No, I have no idea why.
  • I used 2 cups of rye flour as well as 1.5 cups of plain white flour. The flour I used is from Cauldwell’s Mill. It’s in the Peak District and is a truly wonderful place to visit!
  • I also used 2 tablespoons of maple syrup instead of honey, as my honey is expensive.
  • I used 1 tablespoon of melted butter with 1 tablespoon of olive oil as the fats.
  • Lastly, I forgot about the loaf in the oven and it had one hour instead of 30 minutes… But I think this was a good thing – it was still pretty doughy when I checked at 30 minutes, and the loaf certainly isn’t burnt.

Verdict

Well, it’s not going to win me the bread round in the Great British Bake Off, that’s for sure. I can picture Paul Hollywood’s steely look of disdain. There is a yeasty aroma in the air and although I think the loaf looks good, it tastes as if I tipped half a jar of Marmite in there. Fortunately I like the taste of Marmite. I’ve sliced it and put it in the freezer; it will be lovely toasted and spread with mashed avocado for breakfast or lunch one day.

Leave a Reply

