Eve Lom v. Liz Earle Hot Cloth Cleanser

I just love trying new beauty products. And, dare I say it, charity shops* have been the way I’ve been able to try out a lot of great brands.

Boots Time Delay Purifying Cleansing Balm

Personally, I like using balms and hot cloth cleansers in the winter when the combination of hard water and central heating totally dries out my skin. I used to love Boots Purifying Cleansing Balm. Boots clearly tried to mimic the high end products – putting it in a nice box with a muslin cloth. After having tried Eve Lom and Liz Earle though, this now seems like a pot of crude petroleum jelly in comparison. It is quite highly fragranced and started to irritate my eyes. In fact, I’m not sure why I still have it in my bathroom cupboard…

Eve Lom Cleanser

The next cleansing balm I tried was Eve Lom. I tried it by accident as I was desperate to have some more Eve Lom Rescue Mask (it’s totally brilliant) and the cheapest I could find (on eBay) came with a small pot of the cleanser balm. Gosh this stuff is luxurious. It is a beautiful gold colour and has a light, natural scent which is totally unique. I haven’t checked the ingredients, but the scent kind of reminds me of honey, menthol and camomile. It looks thick and grainy in the pot – in fact it doesn’t look that promising – but it melts quite easily onto your skin.

Liz Earle Cleanse and Polish Hot Cloth Cleanser

Liz Earle Cleanse and Polish Hot Cloth Cleanser seemed to be hugely popular, so I couldn’t wait to try it. It’s a bit easier to use, coming in a pump. The thick white cream has an over-riding, but not over-powering, fragrance of eucalyptus. I’ve enjoyed using it and the 100ml bottle has lasted me a long time.

Verdict

Both are easy to use and relatively easy to wash/wipe off with the hot cloth method. I love the luxurious feel of the Eve Lom cleanser. It’s unique and gorgeous. The Liz Earle cleanser looks and feels pretty much like any other cream cleanser. Having bought these in a rather unorthodox way (charity shop and eBay) I originally didn’t know how their prices compare. But there is a massive price difference: Eve Lom 100ml is £55 and Liz Earle 100ml is £14. Is the extra price worth it? Well, speaking as a budget beauty hunter, no.

Do you have a favourite hot cloth cleanser?

 

*Over the years I’ve sampled Nuxe, Caudalie, Decleor, Lancome, Philosophy and other brands, including Liz Earle and Eve Lom – all purchased from charity shops. I guess people receive samples or gifts and don’t need/want to try them. Quite a few times it has meant I’ve gone on to purchase the product. So, please keep giving away your samples and unwanted gifts, people! It helps others like me give them a try!

One thought on “Eve Lom v. Liz Earle Hot Cloth Cleanser

Leave a Reply

